Archive for the ‘Affiliate Marketing’ Category

Practice Copywriting With Real World Data For FREE

Monday, July 18th, 2011

I posted this on a few forums but thought I’d put it up here as well.

This is especially pertinent if you’re newer to copy writing, marketing or advertising. You can learn how to write for free. We always here test, test, test. Well as we both know that costs money.

With this cool tip you can test, test, test which means learn, learn, learn… For FREE!

I was searching on Google for Direct Marketing Copy writing companies because I don’t don’t have time to do it anymore and we could really use more people in the office. Which I’m hiring slowly.

When I stumbled upon a 99 designs style copy writing service.

If you’re not famiiar with this it goes like this.

Someone wants something done so they put up a contest with a prize.

Do X and whoever is selected the best will get prize Y.

The site I found was

http://www.boostctr.com/Company/HowItWorksWriters

So much like trading stocks but not investing money while you improve your skills you can do the same with copy writing. Just sign up as a writer at this site, then start writing copy for contests. I didn’t try it but it seems you get the data on your ad that you write and the data on the other ads that were written as well so you can see who won the contest.

Normally you’d need to spend a lot of money buying traffic to get real world data on how good your copy writing is. But with this service you can hone you cashvertising skills on someone elses dime if you’ve got no loot to do it yourself. :)

Calculating Success – Calculating ROI’s from CPM buys using CPC – Part 2

Wednesday, June 9th, 2010

In my last post, Calculating Success – Figuring out ROI’s – Part 1 we covered a couple of things.

  1. Established a click cost as our basis for figuring out profitability
  2. Discussed the formula involved in calculating a EPC.

Now that we have an EPC we’re going to move on to figuring out how to get a CPC from a CPM cost. We know that CPM is the cost per 1000 people that see your ad. Typical CPM rates can range from 10 cents to 10-20$ CPM. Just depends on the site and how they value their traffic. Maybe after I do some posts on calculations and math I’ll get into media buying but not for now :)

In order to do this we need to get things in terms of clicks. To get things in terms of clicks we need to add another metric and that’s CTR. As discussed in the previous post CTR stands for Click Thru Rate. This is the % of people that click on an ad. Pretty simple right? I get asked a lot what a good CTR is. Of course there is about 100 factors that go into making that determination like placement on the page, how focused the site is to the ad, etc etc. If I’m just doing a Run of Network buy I typically like to get a .1-.2% at a minimum.

Here’s our formula to calculate clicks based on CTR.

Impressions * CTR / 100 = Clicks

lets put some numbers in here.

1000 * .2 / 100 =  2 clicks

If we get 1000 impressions and we have .2% click through rate that means we’re going to get 2 clicks per 1000 impressions. Does this make sense? Let’s use easier numbers. If we have 1000 impressions and 10% ctr that would be 100 clicks right? and 1% would be 10 clicks? So there for our number looks right at 2 clicks per 1000 impressions.

We’ll now be able to calculate our CPC since we have things in terms of clicks. Here’s the formula.

CPM / clicks = CPC

let’s assume we’re paying a 1$ CPM the math would look like this based on our previous 2 clicks.

1.00 / 2 = .50 cents

Make sense? Assuming we are direct linking to the offer from our media  buy all we need is an EPC better then .50 cents and we’re profitable.

We can then take it a reverse it. What if we knew our EPC to be profitable was 75 cents. And we knew our CPM can we find out what CTR we need to be profitable? Of course, we just work with backwards.

1.00 / c = .75

we then multiply both sides by c to get

1.00 = .75c

then we divide both sides by .75 and wind up with c or number of clicks being…

1.00 / .75 = 1.3 clicks  to be profitable

plug this back into to our first equation

1000 * ctr / 100 = 1.3

1000 * ctr = 130

130 / 1000 = .13

We only need a .13% ctr in order to make this campaign profitable if our EPC was hire.

Can you now see how that can really help? You can do some simple math based on what you know and find out really quick what kind of ctr you’d need on your ads, conversion rates or what you should pay for media. If you know that you can’t get better then a ctr of .1 and the typical epc of an offer is $1.00 then you know what you can pay for media and still be profitable.

Here’s two calculators for these equations

Number of clicks from based on CTR

Impressions:
CTR: %
Clicks:

CPC based on CPM and Number of clicks ( calcs busted cause I hate WP, it’s jacking my code. If anyone wants to send me a fix I’ll put it up)

CPM: $
Clicks:
CPC: $

Local Leadgen – Niche Ideas

Tuesday, June 8th, 2010

I’m not a local leadgen guy first off. I know I did that post earlier today about local leadgen and that was more my thoughts on a nice scalable business model. I love building business models more then anything now. Just figuring out how to build and systematize stuff to make it profitable and sustainable. However I was thinking about good leadgen niches, if I was going to run a local leadgen campaign.

So in the online world we have a few different ways to monetize stuff on the backend. Of course you can make this as granular as you want however I like to throw things into 3 categories.

  1. Small ticket 1 time items
  2. Big ticket 1 time items
  3. Continuity

Small ticket items might be anything that the owner only makes under 100-200$ profit. I don’t know if I’d mess with these verticals much. The only way I’d be interested in this world is if I could do some sort of coupon and coupon download charge. But honestly I don’t think there’s a ton of money here without some pretty complicated systems.

Big ticket items are things where there are thousands of dollars potential profit. In the internet/ call center marketing world this might be things like bizopp coaching and seminars. A lot of these have been built such as debt consolidation, mortgage, real estate. But there’s still tons more that are smaller more niche and not as competitive. A few that come to mind are:

  • Mold remediation, typically 5-10k cost minimum with 50% of that profit and paid by insurance
  • Remodel, roofing, paving, pools….
  • Crane service
  • Home theater install
  • Web designers
  • I’m sure you can come up with some ideas here as well :)

Then my favorite is continuity in the offline world. I call it continuity because these are repeat customers where lifetime value of a customer really comes into play. This is what Groupon is really hitting on. From what I read it works out to a breakeven or loss leader for most of the businesses. However the lifetime value of the customer is worth much more if they merchant does things right.

Offline continuity I consider businesses where clients come monthly or something close to regular.  These are you usuaully service based professions of some sort. Here’s a few you can think about:

  • Tanning
  • Nails
  • Chiropractor
  • Oil change
  • Veterinarian
  • Hair Dresser
  • House Keeper

You get the point. Of course the holy grail of niches would be the one that was continuity and a big ticket item, Dr’s maybe? Don’t think that’s legal but you get the point. Have fun with this and keep earning.

Success,
Smaxor

P.S. Come learn to market with Ads4Dough.com my CPA network.

Scalable Local Leadgen Marketing For Cash

Monday, June 7th, 2010

I know I said I was going to do the second math equation post next. However I felt that was a little heavy so I’m going to do something less technical in between to lighten the mood.

On twitter the other day ( I’m @smaxor ) I was talking with a few people about Local lead generation marketing. As you may have picked up that’s all the buzz in the internet marketing community.  Frank Kern if you’re familiar with him has said he’s getting out of Internet Marketing and getting into Local marketing. I don’t really know why this has happened but Local marketing has a lot of potential. But the way it’s being sold and people are being told to go about it, I don’t know that I agree with for the real marketer. Maybe for noobs it’s a good idea. However for the real marketer I don’t think in the carnation that’s being sold is all that scalable and very hard. We had this whole conversation on twitter the other day and Justin owner of affbuzz as me to package it up and put it as a post to help people, so here goes.

You’re probably thinking, so what’s the flaws and what do you suggest. First off I don’t do anything in local but have thought about the model pretty extensively.

For those of you that don’t know local marketing it means going to your local businesses and getting them to do lead generation to get new customers and clients for their businesses. I.E. go to the local chiropractor, plumber, contractor, hair salon, etc. Build lead generation campaigns for them and sell them the leads for more then they cost you to generate. Can you see the flaws in this?

  1. Clients suck and with this model you’re in the weak spot.
  2. The hardest part of marketing is learning all the different angels of a vertical, this has you doing many verticals which is a PITA
  3. How many leads can your local hair salon buy?

Those are my top 3 on why I wouldn’t touch local marketing in how most guru types are pitching it.

However that doesn’t mean it doesn’t have potential, guess what? We’re going to end up back with niche marketing just on a more locally focused level. Call it what you will but real good “local” marketing is niche marketing. You’re probably thinking to yourself, what in the world is he talking about.  Well here’s how you build a great huge business starting with local.

  1. Pick a niche, 1 niche, 1 type of business and know it better then the business owner. Spend a ton of time learning everything there is to know about marketing that niche. What, why and how people buy. What the pain motivators are. Why they’d chose one company over another. What the lifetime value of a customer is to someone in that vertical. Are they a one time deal or do they come back if they come back how many times on avg and for what amount of profit/revenue.
  2. Once you have a solid understanding of the business build a site that’s your brand to capture the leads on. Don’t call it San Diego XXXXX. Call it XXXX deals, XXXXX resources, XXXXX reviews, or whatever else is general enough that you can grow it past 1 city.
  3. Start testing the campaign on your own dime. Drive leads with no buyers just to test if the model will work for you and what it’s going to cost you to generate leads. Once you’ve optimized and done all your testing. This is when we start to approach a business.
  4. Now you’re ready to start talking to actual business owners. From all your research you now know A. how much a lead is worth to a business in that space and can probably tell them how and why better then they can. B. You know what it would cost you to generate a lead for that business so you’re aware of the margin available that it’s a viable business model.
  5. Lock down your first Buyer for the leads and start sending some test leads. There’s always going to be issues. Learn how to deal with those so you don’t get a ton of returns. Make sure you always have the business you’re generating leads for in mind before yourself. If you think about them and provide great leads you’ll have a buildable business.
  6. Once you’ve tested and made a couple bucks sending leads to this buyer you’re probably going to cap them out. They’ll say I can’t take anymore leads, we’re too busy. So guess what now you go to all the other businesses in town and find 5-10 buyers of the leads. Get a good group of buyers in your posse and then let them bid against one another for the leads. This will keep your costs the same but drive up the value of the leads. Something else you can consider doing is making them non-exclusive. You can sell a hair salon lead to 3 salon’s and they can each call and try and sell the lead. Of course you don’t get paid as much per lead but the goal is to make as much as possible. So if you can get more exclusive or semi-exclusive do it.
  7. Once you’ve tapped out your city for that niche start moving onto the next. You’re a master of your niche. I should be easy to duplicate.
  8. When you grow to a size you can’t handle the first person you can hire is a sales rep to manage accounts. Put them on the phone and start growing more and more cities.

At the end of the day if you have 20-40 cities for example and it’s all the same brand/site, which is yours at this point you have a very salable business. An example of someone that’s built a brand promoting local businesses is 1-800-dentist. This isn’t a leadgen model but they’ve basically got money from dentists to market their brand. They made money marketing just the same as you would. And then at the end of the day they own the whole brand. Then you’d technically be called a lead aggregator :)

But again this is Niche Marketing grown from local up. This is not local marketing :) But I think it’s a 1000% better way to go.

On a side note if you’re looking for a cheap simple way to manage lead flow check out leadmesh.com it costs 300$ a month and has a very nice UI and capabilities to take leads in multiple ways and distribute them out in real time or delayed. Also, supports exclusive and semi-exclusive models.

Hope this helps.

Calculating Success – Figuring out ROI’s – Part 1

Saturday, June 5th, 2010

Remember those word problems we used to have in school and how much you hated them?

If you’re in marketing whether that’s affiliate marketing or offline marketing, you’re involved in one big word problem all day long.  Lots of algebra and figuring out what the numbers need to be to make things work. I know most of you just throw campaigns up and see what happens with some basic targets to hit. But what if you had a good idea  before you started. You can test how different things would tweak your profitability. Have you ever done the math on a 10% conversion rate improvement? Or what about a 5% ctr improvement on one of you ads? How does that effect profitability?

In this series of posts I’m going to talk about the formula’s we use to figure out the math of marketing. I know it’s not something fun to most but it’s really interesting to see what little improvements can do in every step of the process. I’m coding up some calculators which I hope I’ll have done by the end of the weekend. Then you can just plug in your metrics and come up with some insightful answers without doing all this math.

Terms we’ll be working with:

  • Impressions = Number of times your add is shown
  • Click = vistor to your website
  • CPM = Cost per thousand impressions
  • CTR = Click Thru Rate, how many people click through and and or page
  • CPC = Cost per Click, how much you pay for each click
  • Conversion = takes some action like buying something, generating a lead. Basically something you make money one.
  • Conversion Rate = the percentage of people that come to a particular offer that turn into conversion
  • Payout = value of the conversion. I’m an internet marketer so payout is my lingo.
  • EPC = Earnings Per Click, how much you make for each click that comes to the offer page

I know for my advanced readers you already know all that crap but we have all types here. :)

In doing any math we like to find some common denominator and in my world it’s a click. In my mind I synthesize everything down to a click and what a click costs. In a lot of the marketing world that metric is eCPM, earnings per thousand impressions. But because I started in affiliate marketing that world is all about EPC. So we’re going to use clicks as our base metric.

Now we know our main metric is clicks lets talk about the most basic equation to profitability there is.

CPC < EPC, cost per click is less then earnings per click

In short if we’re buying media on a Cost Per Click basis,  like Facebook and Google Adwords offers, and we’re direct linking to the offer, meaning we’re using no in between presell page before the offer, if what we’re paying per click is less then what we’re earning per click HURRAY we’re profitable. Pretty simple right? Of course I wouldn’t need to write this article for that simple crap but I want to have a nice solid base to start from.

CPC is simple to calculate that’s just what you’re paying per click on the traffic source. Whatever that might be. But EPC is a little different, we can bring some more math into that side.

Payout * Conversion Rate / 100 = EPC
30$ * 10% / 100 ) = 3$ per click

What can we learn from this?

Well lets take a standard continuity product at a $30. If I offered you a 35$ payout or 11% conversion rate vs 10% which would you take?

lets do the math to calculate out the EPC

better payout first:
$35 * 10% / 100 = $3.5  per click

Now for the improved conversion:
30$ * 11% / 100 = $3.3 per click

Is that what you guessed? So basically a $33 payout is worth the same as a a 1% increase. As an affiliate network some advertisers think they’re going to fix their problems with increasing payouts a little bit. Most of the time they’re not willing to make a payout increase to fix a 4% conversion vs. 10%. So I just give them this equation so they can have a realistic expectation what they need to come in at.

Of course most of us affiliates don’t have to do this as we can find an EPC right in our affiliate marketing network. But it’s still nice to do the math sometimes, to figure out what numbers would have to do to be competitive. Now keep in mind also do these calculations with your own tracking systems or traffic source click count. Because, believe it or not there’s some networks out there that shave clicks to make your EPC’s look better. :)

Here’s an EPC calculator to play with.

Payout: $
Conversion: %
EPC: $

Sorry this was supposed to get a lot more in depth. However, I’m going to break it up into sections. Next will Be Calculating CPC from a CPM buy. In later posts we’ll build some calculators to calculate how a better CTR on a CPM buy can effect your profitability including the CTR of a presell page. I know I know we’ll get there. And as most of you know I don’t post much so I’m going to start writing all the articles now and release them a few days apart…….

On to the second.

Thanks for sticking with my, I’ve been super swamped running Ads4Dough but as I always say I’ll try and post more.

How To Create High Volume, High Converting Landing Pages

Tuesday, February 9th, 2010

Due to the changes in the rebill space I’ve been spending a lot of time researching what’s going on in the rest of the online marketing world. As you know Ads4dough has changed a lot to lead generation, pay per sale and different free trial billing model affiliate offers lately. Due to a lot of the drama in the continuity space we’ve decided to really focus on growing out lead gen, mobile and pay per sale affiliate offers.

Being focused on continuity based offers for almost 2 years straight I really wasn’t following much else that was going on. And honestly it’s pretty crazy what you can find if you just spend a little time looking at what people are doing. There is definitely a huge world out there outside of rebills.

When I start thinking about researching there’s a couple of ways I like to go about it. Because we’re primarily focused on offers that can bring in large amounts of traffic and dollars we’re not really looking for the small niche based offers. I’ve always been a firm believer that if you’re going to spend the time getting something to work, then pick something where the sky is the limit. There is no reason to spend a bunch of time making a niche that can make you $200 a day eventually if you ask me. Sure $200 a day is great but if you picked a niche that could make $10,000 for the same time invested why not?

Based on that we’re going to look a few places that get the most high volume and diverse traffic there is.

  • Display Buys
  • Social traffic
  • Super High Volueme Keywords
  • Premium PPC
  • PPV

If you’ve been in this business for a while I’m sure you make your rounds, checking what’s running on the platforms you’re running on. Try and expand them. For those of you that don’t know Display buys are banner ads on sites. These are typically broad demographic targeted banner media buys. Much of this inventory is bought in bulk and then optimized out to the good sites. Super high volume traffic. Social traffic is great to look at also.  Get 4-5 accounts to a social network site you want to advertise on, say Facebook or Myspace. Then log the ads that are  hitting a lot of those accounts. These are going to be more broad demographic converting offers. And the list goes on. Of course we can just take these offers from these traffic sources and try them on one of these others. But I think we can do better.

Lets play with some ideas for high converting presells. We know that if we’re going to buy on high volume traffic sources we need stuff that appeals to a lot of people. Right? So the more something appeals to people or they are looking for it the better chance we have at converting. We just have to know what those know what those things are and then find or tie and offer into them.

I think a great place for finding out what is the most interesting to the broadest amount of people in the world would be number of searches conducted for a keyword. If a lot of people are looking for it then that probably means when they see a banner ad, ad on a social network or pop under they’re more likely going to click. Makes sense huh? I hunted around for a week and this is the best list of keywords in order I could find.

yahoo
hotmail
lyrics
hotmail.com
yahoo.com
jokes
ebay
maps
games
warez
napster
www.hotmail.com
song lyrics
www.yahoo.com
dictionary
snes roms
mp3
search engines
google
weather
autos
music
clip art
jobs
wallpaper
thumbzilla
Yahoo
chat
clipart
greeting cards
poems
Song Lyrics
winzip
recipes
dogs
travel
health
mapquest
britney spears
movies
PICTURES
pictures
ask jeeves
Pictures
baby names
poetry
flowers
free games
survivor
desktop themes
yellow pages
screensavers
quotes
taxes
Free Game Downloads
sublime directory
prom dresses
horoscopes
southwest airlines
used cars
airline tickets
msn
marijuana
anime
kelly blue book
zip codes
gnutella
Lyrics
white pages
people search
free
irs
Maps
fonts
the huns yellow pages
spanking
backgrounds
cracks
divx
hair styles
chat rooms
jennifer lopez
The Huns Yellow Pages
abortion
screen savers
aol.com
search engine
andrea thompson
free fonts
online games
aol
tattoos
nes roms
freeware
free clip art
books
consumer reports
ampland.com
tommys bookmarks
free pics
free clipart
driving directions
Free Clip Art
msn.com
free internet
amazon.com
e-cards
ellis island
diabetes
free stuff
home depot
pokemon
job search
icq
holocaust
serialz
apartments
free isp
airlines
ebay.com
Music Lyrics
holiday inn
dogpile
auctions
currency converter
april fools
love poems
dragonballz
richards realm
blank
Photos
bomis
genealogy
free essays
encyclopedia
funny pictures
mortgage calculator
cheats
gardening
geneology
guitar tabs
free email
free screensavers
Britney Spears
prom hairstyles
playstation cheats
imesh
www.thehun.com
cloning
Free Clipart
Used Autos
area codes
nasa
freeones
roms
american airlines
horoscope
Auto Parts
huns yellow pages
cd covers
cartoons
ticketmaster
sublimedirectory
news
icons
passwords
Lyrics Search
Snes Roms
house plans
harry potter
music lyrics
lesson plans
Travel Maps
resume
quotations
ecards
mortgage rates
dogfart
Driving Directions
boats
cats
lycos
Yahoo Mail
free mp3
thongs
winamp
literotica.com
erotica
blue book
famous quotes
Online Games
n64 roms
personal finance
google.com
movie reviews
internal revenue service
Hotmail
monster.com
paintball
Jennifer Lopez
madonna
free wallpaper
united airlines
hotels
wav files
FREE
Prom Hairstyles
online dictionary
buddy icons
las vegas
eminem
white shadow
black and white
animated gifs
jjj
Used Cars
Yahoo.com
civil war
travelocity
ringtones
astrology
greenguy
Poems
Discount Travel
Free Downloads
desktop wallpaper
www.aol.com
Chat Rooms
wwf
golf
hacking
real estate
careers
computers
netscape
map
brooke burke
Andrea Thompson
free ringtones
animals
newspapers
northwest airlines
Free Screensavers
art
reverse lookup
sublimedirectory.com
mexico
pics
IRS
dog
posters
the sims
real player
free downloads
sears
gameboy roms
Mortgage Rates
digital cameras
drugs
Women Health
Pics
nakednews.com
cliff notes
women
exchange rates
motorcycles
rotten.com
mame roms
Hotmail.com
continental airlines
photography
cinco de mayo
free greeting cards
Games
marks bookmarks
crack
excite
Free
shoes
free screen savers
birthday cards
tattoo
www.ebay.com
free movies
crackz
drivers
stories
Game Downloads
horses
webcam
time
love
picpost
dragon ball z
cards
mortgages
RPG
scholarships
shareware
bestiality
game cracks
author
astalavista
disney
honda
free music
dragonball z
wallpapers
Mp3 Download
Napster
models
china
www.google.com
AS400
the hun’s yellow pages
Harry Potter
microsoft
altavista
delta airlines
yoga
death penalty
thehun.com
excite.com
everquest
free web hosting
people finder
Msn Hotmail
direct tv
Napster Download
tires
movie trailers
Free Music Downloads
newsgroups
Free Greeting Cards
time zones
Internal RevenueService
Poetry
amazon
emulators
auto parts
science fair project
capital punishment
Tattoo Designs
vietnam war
tatoos
elephantlist
www.msn.com
AS/400
Southwest Airlines
Free Wallpaper
air canada
japan
Airline Tickets
verizon
carmen electra
Dog Breeds
music videos
easter
viagra
employment
cartoon dolls
web cams
bukkake
directions
nascar
Yahoo Email
webcams
sheet music
world map
Hotels
credit cards
e-bay
email
anna kournikova
espn
dragons
www.thehun.net
radio stations
guns
atomic clock
suicide
dvd
hewlett packard
wild cherries
howard stern
tax forms
Used Boats
downloads
fosi
snakes
skateboarding
Free Mp3
Italy
thong
abandonware
Road Maps
car rental
fibromyalgia
Free Screen Savers
Free Online Games
free pictures
radio
Warez
appz
pornno
www.ampland.com
Famous Quotes
Jokes
Online Dictionary
web hosting
e cards
free software
cheap flights
Software Cracks
gun control
Holocaust
Free People Search
thumbnails
persiankitty.com
javascript
CDA-W550
map quest
AGL
sound effects
mad cow disease
Desktop Wallpaper
GAMES
cheap airline tickets
mp3 downloads
flash
nokia
cnn
simpsons
amtrak
child abuse
digital camera
walmart
fish
translator
kids
global warming
australia
names
bmw
adobe acrobat
digimon
dsl
dog breeds
Huns Yellow Pages
free backgrounds
soccer
pubmed
work at home
world war 2
shakespeare
Vietnam War
Airfare
Free Desktop Themes
Real Estate Listings
free porno
qxapoiu
pogo.com
Weather Forecast
baseball
lord of the rings
resumes
Jobs
quicktime
birds
spain
lupus
car audio
Free Nokia Ringtones
thumbzilla.com
photos
portalmix
midi
history
smoking
dodge
Free Pics
boylinks
OS/400
harley davidson
serial numbers
toyota
money
free internet access
legal
Japan
sports
divx codec
naturist
graphics
humor

As found here: Top Word List ( no idea how accurate this is, but good enough for what we want :)

It’s not perfect but it gets the job done. Also another great tool I found while poking around for this list is the Google Insight Tool this can give you the top 50 searches based on some keyword or just the general internet for a time period. One thing you realize is that a lot of people are lazy and type domains in google rather then the address bar. But we’re going to ignore those.

So we have this list of keywords, what now? Lets start thinking of some types of presells.

  • Blog
  • News
  • Quiz
  • Review
  • Graphic

That’s just to name a few we can also look to build things specific for a keyword but maybe I’ll cover that in another post. Take a good hard list at the top 50-100 items on that list. Now we know those are appealing to a lot of people because they search for them. And they can be used for different types of landers at different times. For example we see “dogs” is up there pretty high and we know people love their dogs. Could it help to use a dog in a blog story or a new article? What about a quiz on the frontend of a mobile offer about dogs? Like the IQ stuff but all dog focused. How much do you know about dogs? Can you see the creatives running with puppies on them? Do you think that might get some clicks. Of course dogs might not work to well on review but you could definitely integrate with a graphic lander as well.

Thinking about building an offer? You have a lot better chance of it being a smashing success if you make it appeal to some of the top words. Toolbar installs? I see games way up there guess who owns that term really well? That’s right Gamevance, they do installs and sell it on trafficvance. Weather and jokes are right close and would probably make for great toolbar install words as well. Speaking of weather how about hottest/coldest temperature type quiz for your city. You could probably aggregate that data from somewhere pretty easily and make it target the city the user is in, or close to,  so it’s relevant to them.  Do you know the coldest day in your cities history? Hahaha keep in mind I’m just writing this off the cuff at 1:30am so who knows if this will work but I’m guessing there’s a pretty good chance it will.

If nothing else I hope this got your mental juices flowing. Now get out there and test something new that’s the fun of this business.

See you at A4D

Affiliate Copywriting to Draw In Readers…

Monday, February 1st, 2010

This started as most of my blog posts do. I was talking with an affiliate that works with Ads4Dough and reviewing some of his copy he was using on a article type lander. He showed me the page and I read though it but at first pass I didn’t think it did much on the emotional or senses selling side. I know it’s supposed to be an objective artcle/news report on a product but you can still learn to use language that’s going to draw in you users, to your copy. One thing I can tell you is if you’re copy is boring to read you’re going to lose your buyers in a heartbeat. Now in the 5 years I’ve been in this business I’ve read a LOT of copy and written quite a bit as well. Most of it sucks. Certain things sell plain and simple and it’s aparent a lot of people don’t know what they are.

NOTE: What I want, you, to take for this is concepts. Not copy my copy writing exactly.

In a few older posts I talked about pain and pleasure as motivators. We also discussed how people buy. We buy on emotion and then we justify that emotional purchase with fact.

So how do we get that emotion and feelings involved in our copy?

To effectively bring emotion into our copy we’re typically going to lean towards using a lot more words that involve the senses. Do you know what the primary senses that most people operate by? Did you know if you speak to these senses, all of them, you’re going to connect with most people better? Here is a list of the big 3 senses that most people run through the world with:

  • Feeling
  • Audio
  • Visual

Take a look at those and digest them for a minute. Sure there is more senses then that but most people use these to reference the world. You’ll find certain people stronger towards one then the other. Listen to the language people use when you’re talking with them. I bet after a bit once you get and accute ear you’ll be able to pickup what someones dominant sense is. And get this did you know that men and women are different? Hhahahah of course. Here’s a short cut to get you started with what to focus one depending on what sex you’re writing for.

Most men are strong on the Visual sense. They’re going to say things like: I see what you’re talking about. I can definately picture what you’re saying. When you’re selling to men the more visual you can make your pitch in your copy the more you’re going to connect and the more emotion you’re going to bring out. On an interesting topic when it comes to something that sexually arouses someone guess what men go for? Is it the penthouse forum magazine with the emotional stories? Now of course not it’s the visual picture stimulus. :)

So have you guessed what drives most women? If you haven’t it’s pretty easy “Feeling”. Think heartfelt stories on lifetime movie network.

So lets take a couple of these ideas and put them into play on some short snippets of copy. We’ll start with a statement like:

“I was in so much debt I didn’t know what to do.”

This sounds pretty bland right but it’s not really touching on any sense or emotions. There’s honestly nothing to pull anyone in. But lets take this and write it for a strong visual sensing person:

“Every day I closed my eyes as I opened the door beacuse i knew I’d see the stacks of bills sitting there piling up to the ceiling.”

How about one for a strong audio sensing person:

“everytime the heard the mail slot open all i could say to myself was, I don’t want to look, because I knew exactly what was there.”

And one last one for for the feeling people:

“I used to cringe every day stewing over all those bills piling up and weighing on me.”

Pretty cool huh. Which one did you connect with the most?

The ideal copy weaves between all these senses almost like a web. The more you can hit on each of the sense types the more you’re going to connect with each type of person. If you’re going to be targeting one sex more specifically I’d highly suggest going about double on the keywords tha appeal to them.

Now go sell Ice to Eskimo’s :)

Old Video Interview of Me And Tracking202

Friday, January 15th, 2010

I never posted this video before of me being interviewed by Wes Mahler one of the founders of Tracking202 the open source affiliate tracking software. I’ve had some people recently ask me where to find it and get a lot of great feedback about it from newer publishers so I thought I’d put it up here for everyone to easily find.

See yah at Affiliate Summit West :)

Affiliate Tradeshow Floor Tips

Wednesday, January 13th, 2010

Involved in affiliate marketing? Then you probably know that Affiliate Summit West is just a few days away.

So how can you get the most out of the show?

I’m sure you’ve read all the posts saying that all the real business at tradeshows happens at the parties. I agree a lot of business and information is shared in the settings outside the tradeshow floor. What niches are working well and where is a lot of the juicy stuff you’ll get off the tradeshow floor. Stuff that’s not usually shared publicly anywhere.

BUT….

There is a ton of good business to be done on the Affiliate Summit tradeshow floor as well, but you have to go with a plan. As affiliates what are the things we care about?

  1. Traffic Sources
  2. Things to promote
  3. Creative and site design ( for some )

All of these things are bountiful at the actual show. Some shows are better then others for one or the other. I think Adtech is better for Traffic Sources and Affiliate Summit is better to meet networks and advertisers.

So what’s the plan? When I hit the tradeshow floor I want to meet as many people as I can. Network like a mad man meeting people that I “don’t” know. Seeing people you do know is fine but it’s the people you don’t know which is going to open new avenues, ideas and in turn create opportunities.

Here’s my plan:

Walk onto the floor and start at booth 1 then walk from booth to booth. Talk with every single person you can and find out which of your list items they have to offer you. Mostly I’m looking for traffic when I hit the tradeshow floor. More traffic sources is always what’s the most interesting to me. I know where to find offers at this point. So I walk from booth to booth collecting business cards asking “Do you sell traffic?” or “Who do you know that sells traffic?” If they answer yes I talk to them about how they sell it ie. ppc, cpm, cpv, cpa. How much inventory do they have. What does it take to get started, what offers are doing well with in their platform, what creative compliance stuff they have. Then I take all that and write as much of it as I can on the back of their  business card so when I get home I can remember what they have to offer.

Now if they say they don’t sell traffic they’re going to tell me what they do. When they tell me I try and figure out how I can get to some traffic contact they know. For example if it’s an affiliate network I might ask “what offers are doing well on your network?”, “How are affs promoting them?”, “where are they buying traffic?” Keep in mind they may not answer some of these questions but guess what if you don’t ask they will be guaranatee’d not to answer. Don’t be a panzy ask, dig, pry and get every last bit of info out of everyone you talk to. Don’t be afraid you’re going to hurt someones feeling or overstep your bounds. Now I’m not saying be a jackass but I am saying dig like a archeologist looking for bones., keep diggin.

If you, like me, plan on staying in this business long term your business will grow and you’ll need more and more people in the tradeshow. So give everyone respect and file what they do away somewhere. Because you’re going to get down the road, and this business is like a puzzle. You’re going to have some project going and there’s going to be a few pieces missing. Those cards you collected years ago at some show will fill your puzzle and complete your project.

Have fun and meet as many new people as you can. You already know the people you know come home with new connections and grow your business.

Success,
Smaxor

Explosive Formula for Affiliate Marketing in the New Year

Monday, December 14th, 2009

As a lot of you have noticed as we get closer and closer to Christmas and New Years, traffic and conversions get more and more erratic. Happens every year. With that thought in mind most of the stuff we’re looking at, at this point is planning for the new year. Rather then trying to get campaigns profitable right now we’re setting up pre-sell pages and creatives for new campaigns across the board.

There are two things that make the New Year a fantastic time for affiliate marketing

  1. All the brand advertisers that were buying and bidding up prices leave the market place. So reps for ad companies actually want to talk with us again and have time for us affiliates.
  2. New years resolutions. It’s a new year everyone wants to stop what they’re doing and start doing something better.

With number 2 in mind I decided to try and find a good list of the top New Years resolutions. And came across USA.gov. According to the US Government this is the top list of new years resolutions that US citizens make for themselves.

  • Lose Weight
  • Manage Debt
  • Save Money
  • Get a Better Job
  • Get Fit
  • Get a Better Education
  • Drink Less Alcohol
  • Quit Smoking Now
  • Reduce Stress Overall
  • Reduce Stress at Work
  • Take a Trip
  • Volunteer to Help Others

Any of these niches look familiar? Ironic isn’t it? Pretty much a list start to finish of the best converting niches in affiliate marketing. Ironic Isn’t it?

So lets recap:

Cheap Media ( brand advertisers leaving )+ motivated buyers ( new years resolutions )+ pain products ( see previous post here ) = Dollars in your Wallet.

P.S. of course ask your affiliate manager on A4D if you’re looking for any of these types of offers.